Nog niet vertaalde boeken die ik wil lezen #3

maandag 24 augustus 2015





Vorige week maakte ik al deze blogpost, maar volgende week komen er zoveel leuke boeken uit in Amerika en ik hoop dat ook deze vertaald zullen worden.






Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Ik weet hoe vervelend het kan zijn als een beperking je van leuke dingen weghoudt, en daarom lijkt het me leuk hoe dat beschreven wordt en het het personage er mee omgaat. Ook lijkt het me leuk om te zien hoe iemand toch die dingen probeert te doen, net als ik.




Never date your best friend. Always be original. Sometimes rules are meant to be broken. Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliche high school kids-the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they'd never, ever do in high school. Some of the rules have been easy to follow; like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he's broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It's either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember. Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the cliches, they've actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.

En dit lijkt me dan weer een simpel, maar goed gevuld verhaal. Zo'n boek dat je makkelijk weg leest, maar waar je toch erg van geniet. Ergens doet het me denken aan Eleanor & Park van Rainbow Rowell en daar heb ik erg van genoten.





It took Will Caynes seventeen years to have his first kiss. He should be ecstatic…except that it was shared with his best friend, Angus, while they were both drunk and stoned. Will’s not gay, but he did sort of enjoy whatever it was he felt with Angus. Unsettled by his growing interest in Angus, Will avoids his friend, and even starts dating a sophomore, Brandy. When he’s hooking up with her, he’s totally into it, so he must be straight, right? Then why does he secretly keep going back to Angus?
Confusing as Will’s feelings are, they’re a welcome distraction from his complicated home life. His father has started drinking earlier each day when he should be working on what seem like never-ending house renovations. And his mom—living in a McMansion with her new husband—isn’t much help, just buying Will a bunch of stuff he doesn’t need. Neither feels like much of a parent—which leaves Will on his own in figuring things out with his girlfriend and best friend. He loves them both, but deciding who to be with will ultimately hurt someone. Himself probably the most.


Ik vind het goed dat schrijvers over problemen schrijven die sommigen tieners echt meemaken. Dit kan tieners ook helpen. Nu maak ik dit probleem niet mee, maar het lijkt me wel interessant om er over te lezen en hoe de personages er mee omgaan. Naar dit boek kijk is nog het meeste uit, zoveel zelfs dat ik hem misschien wel in het Engels wil lezen.




This is the story of a girl, her gay best friend, and the boy in love with both of them. A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.  As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Dit lijkt er een beetje op, maar volgens mij is het in dit boek iets luchtiger en minder gecompliceerd. Alsnog lijkt het me erg leuk om te lezen.




Een reactie plaatsen